Posted by: Ian Bruk | September 11, 2008

Song for Guy and Ulysses

I am in the middle of a discussion about Elton John’s “Song for Guy”.

After listening to it again on YouTube

The lyrics to the song are simply “Life isn’t everything”. Yet when I watched the video he actually repeats the word “life” eight times.

I was reminded of what someone told me about the last page of James Joyce’s “Ulysses”. The page is said to contain repetitive uses of the word “yes” and is meant to be the affirmation of life that females represent.

first I put my arms around him yes and drew him down to me so he could feel my breasts all perfume yes and his heart was going like mad and yes I said yes I will Yes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

