Posted by: Ian Bruk | April 3, 2012

Back To The Future Of Politics

I am quoted as saying 12/12/12 is not the end of the world – it is the end of the world as we know it. An institutional shakeup is coming – including politics. In an attempt to understand the politics of the province I live in I started asking the Members Of The Legislature a simple question: “Do you or do you not believe that the saying: “When the student is ready the teacher appears is true?” That, to say the least, did not interest them. Here’s my second attempt.

I have a problem with a cell phone contract I entered into. I spent 1 1/2 hours with a London Drugs salesperson and was quite happy leaving the store. Then the rosey picture faded. Some long distance calls in Canada were prefaced with “long distance charges will apply”. There was no rhyme or reason to when this message would appear. I was supposed to have free Canada wide calling. Then I started getting billed for long distance. I was also supposed to have unlimited incoming and outgoing. That didn’t apply either. I was hit with a several hundred dollar bill which I paid.

I tried to speak to London Drugs. I wouldn’t exactly call what they did help. I think they acknowledged that there could have been a misunderstanding but there is no record on their end?

Then I got a collection call. I asked where the nearest office was (I am on Texada Island). I lost my credit card and could not make it to Powell River in time. I asked the clerk if they could pay it with their credit card and I would reimburse them plust $50 in a couple of days. She was dumbfounded – actually she was just dumb. When they wouldn’t go for that, or for my later payment (they had to cut me off?) I said “Oh you don’t trust me? Well then I don’t trust you – Goodbye”.

So does my local MLA trust me? Almost every person I talk to has problems with cell phones, broken promises, altered contracts – basically one shitty business. So what are you going to do for me MLA? What steps have you, or your party, taken to help your consituents. I’m waiting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

