Posted by: Ian Bruk | April 10, 2012

Iam Jack Nicholson

My nickname is Iam. And my most important word is Metaphor. And I have heroes. Jack Nicholson is one.  That is what I refer to when I say “Iam Jack Nicholson”.

And I just saw “The Departed” where Jack Nicholson quotes another one of my heroes, James Joyce, when he says: “Non Serviam”. His character in the movie says you have to take what you want. No one will give it to you. This is an ongoing investigation of this web site. From Wikipedia:

  • In James Joyce‘s A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Father Arnall uses the phrase “Non serviam: I will not serve” to characterize Lucifer’s sin, an allusion to Lucifer’s assertion of non serviamto God in Milton‘s Paradise Lost, where the fallen angel Mammon states that it is “Better to reign in hell than serve in heaven”.[2] The protagonist Stephen Dedalus later echoes Lucifer in his decision to follow the life of the artist, telling Cranly, “I will not serve that in which I no longer believe whether it call itself my home, my fatherland or my church.”[3] Eamonn Hughes maintains that Joyce takes a dialectic approach, both assenting and denying, saying that Stephen’s much noted non serviam is qualified – “I will not serve that which I no longer believe…”, and that the non serviam will always be balanced by Stephen’s “I am a servant…” and Molly’s “yes”.[4]
  • Stephen repeats the phrase non serviam in Ulysses during his confrontation with his dead mother
Leave a Reply

Categories

