Posted by: Ian Bruk | May 2, 2012

A Jolly Good Time

Is what I want the politicians to show us. Not the FUD (Fear, Uncertainty and Doubt) that they feed us. I read yesterday’s post about Shakespeare and it reminded me of one of my favorite movies – “The Madness Of King George”. (George is my middle name but I am The Emperor of Nothing Is Right Or Wrong Only Thinking Makes It So Land so don’t go there.) One of the final scenes of the movie has the King and one of his counselors reading Shakespeare in the garden. I would love to have a play reading club I have talked to people on my island about it before.

I couldn’t find that scene but following is a great scene that really encapsulates the tone of the movie. And watching it I am reminded of what politics was, what politics could be. Mr. Pitt is actually interested in his position – fulfilling his position by serving his country. And the King is so cool. He is so down to earth but also so aware of his superior position. More later on why I am a supporter of the Royal Family after being against them for 50 years. What becomes apparent to me now is that because we replaced The Royal family with our “Democracy”, and because the last few Governor Generals have been “Takers” not “Makers” no one talks down to Mr. Harper as the King does to Mr. Pitt – we need more of that. Establishment/Elders where art thou?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

